The ISL bandwagon adds two new teams

The ISL now officially is a 10-team tournament after two new teams were announced on Monday.

The two new teams belong to Tata Steel and the JSW Group, both coincidentally steel magnets. While the Tata Group will put out a team from Jamshedpur, the JSW Group will move their already existing team Bengaluru FC from the I-league to the ISL.

Read: Bengaluru FC will play in the ISL: Who is the winner?

The AIFF had opened an Invitation to Bid for the parties who were interested in taking part in the ISL. And both the Tatas and JSW were the only two franchises who had submitted the documents. Even though both Mohun Bagan and East Bengal picked up the documents but they failed to submit it within the stipulated time frame.

The two-time I-League champions Bengaluru FC have quickly become one of the big names in the Indian footballing scenario. They have one of the strongest and loyal fan bases in the whole of India, and it will be a welcome sight to see them play in the ISL.

While one the other hand, the Tata group have been involved with the footballing scene in India since a very long time. If not from the foreground but definitely from behind the scenes. The Tatas are going to play their home matches in the city of Jamshedpur which coincidentally also has the famed Tata Football Academy which was set-up way back in 1987.

After the announcement, CEO of Bengaluru FC Parth Jindal said, “We’re glad that our bid to be part of the ISL has been accepted. A lot of time and thought has gone into our decision of wanting to be part of the Indian Super League. The biggest factor has been the interest of the long-term future of Indian football. A longer league is the right road ahead.”

For more news please follow: The Football Fan Base.